URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT: Illinois Bill to Expand Use of Antique Vehicles Signed Into Law
SEMA Action Network
August 17, 2011
Legislation (H.B. 3256) to provide for an expanded-use antique vehicle registration class that would allow an tique vehicles and replicas to be driven without limitation during the warmer part of the year (April 1 through October 31) was signed into law by Governor Pat Quinn. Under the new law, expanded-use antiques are limited to traveling to and from car shows, exhibitions, servicing or demonstration during the colder months (November 1 through March 31). Regular antique vehicle registration is still available for a lower fee to hobbyists who would prefer only operating their vehicle on a limited-use basis throughout the year. The law becomes effective on Jan. 1, 2012.
The expanded-use antique registration plate will be available at an annual fee of $45. The limited-use antique plate (travel to and from car shows, exhibitions, for servicing or demonstration) remains available at a fee of $13 for a two-year registration. A standard registration plate, with no use limitations, is available for an annual $98 registration fee. In Illinois, an antique vehicle is defined as a motor vehicle that is more than 25 years of age, a bonafide replica or a fire-fighting vehicle more than 20 years old which is not used as fire-fighting equipment.
Thank you and congratulations to all who participated in supporting this bill!
|Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library|