Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.


American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

Stock Car Racing


Matt Panure
Mid American Stock Car Series
January 19, 2008

(Wisconsin Dells, WI) January 19 -- One of the most competitive seasons in Mid-American history came to an official end at the Wintergreen Resort and Conference Center as the top drivers were honored for their achievements.

The evening began with the introduction of the series’ new chaplain, Scott Buhrow of Reedsburg, WI. Buhrow expressed his excitement to be part of Mid-American before he gave his first invocation with the series.

Also on hand were "superfans" Bob and Bev Aschenbrenner. The Aschenbrenners have been attending races all over the Midwest for almost 45 years and have come to know the likes of Trickle, Shear and Kenseth.

Series co-owner Doug Strasburg began the evening by introducing a special guest speaker. Stewart Doty, the editor of Racing Promoters Monthly, gave a speech praising the Mid-American Stock Car Series’ “grass-roots” approach to the sport. “From all appearances the Mid-American Series appears to be as much a drivers’ class as any there is in racing. Whenever I watch (Mid-American) puts on the best race on the card,” said Doty.

The first award of the evening was then handed out to 2007 rookie of the year Kyle Shear. Shear received several contingencies, most notably a radio package presented to him by Competition Race Technology. “I’ve always looked up to you guys and I still do,” Shear explained to his fellow Mid-American drivers. Shear, who won his first career Mid-American feature at the Dells Raceway Park, plans on returning to the Series in 2008 along with his brother Troy.

Co-owner Julie Strasburg made a speech to recognize all of the Mid-American members who participated in the American Cancer Society Run/Walk at Road America, handing out t-shirts to commemorate the event.

After a speech by Strasburg to recognize Mid-American employees and sponsors, awards were given by Race Driver Cards to all of the drivers in attendance. S.D.S. Racing Shocks also presented Dave Obermeyer with four shocks for finishing eleventh in points.

The night was worth while thanks to contingent sponsors for those drivers who were among the 14 who competed in 75% or more events in 2007. The qualified drivers received money from Lynch GM Superstore as part of the Lynch Loyalty Travel Bonus. Additional bonus money held over from the cancellation of the Blue Race in August at WIR, was distibuted from Tisler Salvage. Some drivers also received a certificate from M/R Racing Equipment and supplies from Schaeffer Oil.

After the round of contingencies, the tenth through sixth place drivers were awarded trophies. 2006 rookie of the year, Jake Finney, made an impromptu speech to taunt the Green Bay Packer fans on hand for losing to the Bears twice this season. Lyle Nowak later offered a rebuttal asking, “Jake, what channel are the Bears on tomorrow?” Eighth place Kevin Damrow and rookie of the year Kyle Shear also received marketing packages from Joe Verdegan Marketing.

Trophies were then presented to the fifth through second place finishers. Third place Jeremy Spoonmore won a free body from Five Star, while second place Bill Prietzel was drawn as the winner of a trip to the Bristol Spring Race from Boring Bob’s Tours. Hoosier Racing Tire and Diamond Racing Wheel also sent along prizes for the top five as well as for the rookie of the year, Shear.

For the second year in a row and the third time in his career James Swan was crowned the Mid-American Stock Car Series champion. Swan offered a special dedication of his award to the now closed Lake Geneva Raceway where he began his career. Swan also brought along sponsors, his crew and some friends, thanking them for all of their support on the season. He also offered a special round of thanks to the members and drivers of Mid-American.

The final award of the evening is one of the most heralded in Mid-American. Bobby Gutknecht accepted the Sportsmanship Award, which is voted on by fellow drivers. Gutknecht, who is one of the most helpful and easily approachable drivers in the Midwest, was well deserving of the award.

Many generous donations from Hankscraft Manufacturing, Behling Racing Equipment, Diamond Racing Wheel, Rockford Speedway, Hawkeye Racing News, Bill and Jan Prietzel, Phil Meier, sponsors and friends of Gutknecht Racing, Scott Null Racing, Dave Obermeyer Racing, Mike Mulcahy Racing, Finney Racing, Darren Woelke Racing, Bob & Maxwell Schultz, and Lyle Nowak Racing ensured that no one went home empty handed.

The Mid-American Stock Car Series would like to thank all of our sponsors, drivers and fans for all of their support through the 2007 season. The 2008 season will begin at Rockford Speedway in Love’s Park, IL on Sunday, 13th. For more information on the Mid-American Stock Car Series including the final 2007 standings, a tentative 2008 schedule and driver information please visit www.midamericanracing.com.

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library at Google+ The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute