Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

Qualification of Drivers; Exemption Applications; Vision

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

American Government

Qualification of Drivers; Exemption Applications; Vision

Larry W. Minor
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
May 6, 2015

[Federal Register Volume 80, Number 87 (Wednesday, May 6, 2015)]
[Pages 26131-26133]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2015-10604]



Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

[Docket No. FMCSA-2015-0047]

Qualification of Drivers; Exemption Applications; Vision

AGENCY: Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), DOT.

[[Page 26132]]

ACTION: Notice of denials.


SUMMARY: FMCSA announces its denial of 97 applications from individuals 
who requested an exemption from the Federal vision standard applicable 
to interstate truck and bus drivers and the reasons for the denials. 
FMCSA has statutory authority to exempt individuals from the vision 
requirement if the exemptions granted will not compromise safety. The 
Agency has concluded that granting these exemptions does not provide a 
level of safety that will be equivalent to, or greater than, the level 
of safety maintained without the exemptions for these commercial motor 
vehicle (CMV) drivers.

Carrier, Driver and Vehicle Safety Standards, (202) 366-4001, 
fmcsamedical@dot.gov, FMCSA, Department of Transportation, 1200 New 
Jersey Avenue SE., Room W64-224, Washington, DC 20590-0001. Office 
hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except 
Federal holidays.



    Under 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, FMCSA may grant an exemption 
from the Federal vision standard for a renewable 2-year period if it 
finds ``such an exemption would likely achieve a level of safety that 
is equivalent to or greater than the level that would be achieved 
absent such an exemption.'' The procedures for requesting an exemption 
are set forth in 49 CFR part 381.
    Accordingly, FMCSA evaluated 97 individual exemption requests on 
their merit and made a determination that these applicants do not 
satisfy the criteria eligibility or meet the terms and conditions of 
the Federal exemption program. Each applicant has, prior to this 
notice, received a letter of final disposition on the exemption 
request. Those decision letters fully outlined the basis for the denial 
and constitute final Agency action. The list published in this notice 
summarizes the Agency's recent denials as required under 49 U.S.C. 
31315(b)(4) by periodically publishing names and reasons for denial.
    The following applicant, Douglas R. Yurek, did not have sufficient 
driving experience over the past three years under normal highway 
operating conditions.
    The following 22 applicants had no experience operating a CMV:

James D. Bakken
Travis D. Bartholomy
Scott R. Beaulieu
Michael Carter
Stephen J. Cossalter
Michael T. Long-Grant
Richard J. March
Kevin L. McLeod
Christopher R. Mehaffey
Cole W. Mogannam
Marcus M. Noble
Adam J. O'Dell
Mojeed K. Okedara
Torrence R. Perry
Randall T. Petersheim
Sunni R. Ross
Stevo Saric
Richard Shadrick
Kevin Usher
Brian Washington
Trent Weatherford
John R. Weitekamp

    The following 24 applicants did not have three years of experience 
driving a CMV on public highways with their vision deficiencies:

Paul D. Ashwood, Sr.
Juan Bekusus
Dale Carter
Ronald T. Dell, Jr.
Charles J. Dobson
Lauren D. Gay
Derk J. Gerritsen
David D. Gillis
Russell C. Gordon
Jeffrey J. Graham
Ernesto Herrera
Alan J. Horn
Peter A. Kaczor
Charles F. Kiefat
Chad W. Klein
Ronald L. Kuhle
Stephen C. Linardos
Cody N. McDonnell
Joseph McKinney
Kenneth G. McLeod
Shaun O. McMahon
Reymundo Rodriguez
Gregory D. Sheldon
Terry P. Tyler, Jr.

    The following six applicants did not have three years of recent 
experience driving a CMV with the vision deficiency:

Darrel Tchida
Joshua H. Boatright
George Patterson
Travis D. Nye
Onoride S. Ogbotor
Gary L. Vanosdel

    The following applicant, Clifton J. Barnes, did not have sufficient 
driving experience during the past three years under normal highway 
operating conditions:
    The following applicant, Donald R. Lewis, Jr., had more than two 
commercial motor vehicle violations during the three-year period and/or 
application process. Each applicant is only allowed two moving 
    The following three applicants had their CDLs suspended in relation 
to a moving violation during the three-year period. Applicants do not 
qualify for an exemption with a suspension during the three-year 

Daryl Wojcik
Angel Marrero
Dyvon Small

    The following two applicants were unable to obtain a statement from 
an optometrist or ophthalmologist stating that he was able to operate a 
commercial vehicle from a vision standpoint:

George A. Kaiser
Alejandro Huerta

    The following six applicants were denied for miscellaneous/multiple 

Gill T. Thompson
Anthony E. Allegra
David W. Nicholson
Billy Bailey
Robert K. Lowe, Jr.
Bayardo A. Ordenana

    The following applicant, Anthony Buisseteth, did not have stable 
vision for the entire three-year period.

    The following three applicants never submitted the documents 
required for a vision exemption:
Israel Resto
Edward Labounty, II
Harry Rowlinson, Jr.

    The following 14 applicants met the current federal vision 
standards. Exemptions are not required for applicants who meet the 
current regulations for vision:

Robert W. Enevold
Keith E. Dugger
Marvin R. Roetcisoender
Robert Williams
Kevin L. Byrd
Dallas Lahman
Brad Koenig
Raymond Banks
Ernest F. Salas
Matthew D. Kaaz
Patrick J. McHugh
Timothy W. Carr
Savuth Pich
Elias P. Raymundo

    The following applicant, Dale A. Briggs, Jr., held a medical card 
that was valid for less than six months.
    The following nine applicants were denied because they will not be 
driving interstate, interstate commerce, or are not required to carry a 
DOT medical card:

Richard M. Schulman
Mike Nenovich
Lester Walker

[[Page 26133]]

Javier F. Gonzalez
Wayne G. Howard
Luis E. Abreu
Roger McGrath
William D. Greenwell
Joseph J. Gelfo

    Finally, the following three applicants perform transportation for 
the federal government, state, or any political sub-division of the 

Angel Rosado
Charles Severson
Roy L. March

    Issued on: April 30, 2015.
Larry W. Minor,
Associate Administrator for Policy.
[FR Doc. 2015-10604 Filed 5-5-15; 8:45 am]

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library at Google+ The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute