Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

Hultgren Named Champion of Graduated Driver Licensing

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

American Government Topics:  State Farm

Hultgren Named Champion of Graduated Driver Licensing

Congressman Randy Hultgren
October 17, 2012

Congressman Randy Hultgren
SUGAR GROVE, IL– Congressman Randy Hultgren (IL-14) has been named a 2012 Graduated Driver Licensing Champion award by State Farm to recognize his long-time support and leadership on teen driving safety.

Hultgren is the first federal legislator to receive this prestigious award. Twenty five state legislators have been recognized for their work on strengthened graduated driver licensing (GDL) laws since 2008.

State Farm applauds the passage of The Surface Transportation Extension Act of 2012, Part II (H.R. 4348), which includes a grant program to encourage states to adopt enhanced GDL laws. In addition to Congressman Hultgren, Congressman Tim Bishop (D, NY-1) and Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D, NY) will be recognized with the Champion award for their support.

State Farm believes stronger GDL laws in all 50 states and the District of Columbia will help create safer roadways and better teen drivers. GDL laws help strengthen the driving skills of eligible teenagers, introducing driving privileges to young novice drivers over time, providing opportunities to gain valuable behind-the-wheel experience and develop important driving skills in lower-risk conditions.

Enforcement of these new driving restrictions begins at home. While parents are in the best position to impose GDL requirements, having strong laws in place throughout the country emphasizes the vital importance the states place on teen driver safety.

As part of recognition of National Teen Driving Safety Week, a formal presentation of the award to Congressman Hultgren took place Wednesday at the Sugar Grove Village Hall. Sugar Grove Village President P. Sean Michels participated in the award ceremony, along with the Sugar Grove Police Department.


Pictured:Congressman Hultgren,center,with (left to right) Sugar Grove Chief of Police Ron Moser, Sugar Grove President Sean Michels, Derek Eastman of State Farm – Sugar Grove and Scott Queen of State Farm – Batavia.

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library at Google+ The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute