Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.


American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

Stock Car Racing Topics:  Jeremy Spoonmore


Keith Vercauteren
Mid American Stock Car Series
October 1, 2006

October 1, 2006; Lake Geneva, WI – In the final Mid-American Stock Car Series event to be run at the soon-to-be-closed Lake Geneva Raceway, Jeremy Spoonmore from Somonauk, IL reached the checkered flag first in the 40-lap Victor Ford Fall Classic feature. By virtue of a third place finish in the race, Lake Geneva’s own James Swan needs only to appear at the final race of the season at the Oktoberfest race in LaCrosse, WI to clinch the series points championship.

New Lenox, IL driver Johnny Senerchia, winner of the previous series race at Rockford Speedway, bolted in front of polesitter George Schultz of Bristol, WI to take the lead on the opening lap. Senerchia kept a steady pace up front until lap 9, when Schultz, currently second in the series points, began to pressure for the lead. Meanwhile, Spoonmore began to make his move from the seventh starting position, slipping into the third spot on lap 10.

The first caution flag of the race flew on lap 11 when Jeff Tisler of Reedsville, WI spun around in turn three. On the restart, Spoonmore snuck by on the outside of Schultz to grab second. Wasting no time, Spoonmore immediately reeled in Senerchia and took over the lead with an inside pass on lap 14.

With Spoonmore and Senerchia running away from the field, Adam Mass of Woodstock, IL began challenging Schultz for the third position. Schultz held off the challenges as Mass fell back and was passed by Ken Smart of Oconomowoc, WI, moving Smart up to the fourth position on lap 21. Two laps later, Smart was still on the move, squeezing past Schultz into the third position. On lap 24, Wally Morgan of East Troy, WI spun between turns three and four to bring the out the caution flag.

Spoonmore continued to set the pace until lap 29 when Ron Weyer of Richfield, WI and Shawn Utphall of Racine, WI collided in turn three. Four laps after the restart, second place running Senerchia retired to the pits after being given the black flag for a fluid leak. Swan, meanwhile, had moved up to fourth and proceeded to pass Kenny Joosten of Wonder Lake, IL to take over third on lap 37.

Spoonmore held a commanding lead as the race ended, as Smart held back a last lap charge by Swan to finish second. John Janssen of Burlington, WI and Jeremy Bloomberg of Gilberts, IL rounded out the top five.

“We really wanted to get this,” Spoonmore said of the honor of being the final Mid-Am winner at the track. “It’s good for the team and everyone. My crew made the car really easy to drive today.”

The 20-lap last chance race saw Hank Tews of Batavia, IL take his career first checkard flag. 10-lap heat races were claimed by Morgan and Jim Thorson of Sugar Grove, IL. Erik Pierce from Lake in the Hills, IL topped the 35 cars entered in qualifying with a time of 17.225 seconds.

The Mid-American Stock Cars will close out their 2006 season at the Lacrosse Speedway during the 37th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend on October 7th. For more information, visit the series website at www.midamericanracing.com.

40-lap feature: 1. Jeremy Spoonmore, Somonauk, IL; 2. Ken Smart, Oconomowoc, WI; 3. James Swan, Lake Geneva, WI; 4. John Janssen, Burlington, WI; 5. Jeremy Bloomberg, Gilberts, IL; 6. Kenny Joosten, Wonder Lake, IL; 7. George Schultz, Bristol, WI; 8. Bobby Gutknecht, Oak Creek, WI; 9. Adam Mass, Woodstock, IL; 10. Denny Norton, Wonder Lake, IL; 11. Erik Pierce, Lake in the Hills, IL; 12. Cliff Adee, Gilberts, IL; 13. Bill Prietzel, Richfield, WI; 14. Jake Finney, Sycamore, IL; 15. Jeff Tisler, Reedsville, WI; 16. Kyle Shear, Roscoe, IL; 17. Gary Norton, Hebron, IL 18. Ron Weyer, Richfield, WI 19. Hank Tews, Batavia, IL; 20. Wally Morgan, East Troy, WI; 21. Johnny Senerchia, New Lenox, IL; 22. Jerry Freeman, Burlington, WI; 23. Shawn Utphall, Racine, WI; 24. Andrew Kulka, Deerfield, WI

20-lap semi feature: 1. Tews-transfer; 2. Freeman-transfer; 3. Tisler-transfer; 4. Weyer-transfer; 5. Morgan-transfer; 6. K. Shear-transfer; 7. Jim Thorson, Sugar Grove, IL; 8. Scott Null, Lake Mills, WI; 9. David Verhagen Jr., Green Bay, WI; 10. Jeremy Tess, East Troy, WI; 11. Brett Bauer, Kimberly, WI; 12. Troy Weich, Fond du Lac, WI; 13. Tony Habeck, Black Creek, WI; 14. Bick Behrendt, Ingleside, IL; 15. Troy Shear Jr., Roscoe, IL; 16. Mike Smart, Oconomowoc, WI; 17. Jeremy Olson, Lake Villa, IL

Heat 1: 1. Morgan; 2. Null; 3. Freeman; 4. M. Smart; 5. Weich; 6. Tews; 7. Behrendt; 8. Verhagen

Heat 2: 1. Thorson; 2. Janssen; 3. Gutknecht; 4. Norton; 5. Joosten; 6. K. Smart; 7. Swan; 8. Mass; 9. Adee; 10. Utphall

Fast Time -- Pierce (17.225 seconds)

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute